I developed rhymebrain.com for fun, in my spare time, and I’m the first to admit that it isn’t the greatest rhyming dictionary out there. Human language is a difficult problem for computers to understand, and lots of other people have tackled this subject. Here are some of my favourite rhyming dictionaries from the web.

RhymeZone

Rhymezone, made by Doug Beeferman is the oldest and one of the most accurate rhyming dictionaries out there. I remember using it when I was in high school, and years later, I used it to write love poems to my girlfriend, who is now my wife.

Doug has spent his life studying how computers can process human language, and has spent years building up a comprehensive dictionary of English.

Like RhymeBrain, the dictionary also suggests near rhymes when no perfect rhymes are available.

Rhymer.com

Rhymer, from WriteExpress(R) is another great web site. It has 93,000 words, and not only lets you search for rhymes, but it also has beginning-rhymes, or lets you rhyme only the last, last two, or last three syllables at a time. For $19.99 you can also download their software and lookup rhymes without connecting to the Internet.

B-Rhymes

B-Rhymes also allows you to see “slant” rhymes, which are words that sound similar, like “conclusive” and “effusive”, but they don’t technically rhymes. The listing of rhyming words also shows you how the words are pronounced. The author has an iphone app for sale.

 

